PDP releases 2nd list of 21 candidates

PDP releases 2nd list of 21 candidates

Bukhari, Alam and Muntazir Mohindin in the list

Srinagar: Opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Saturday released its second list of 21 candidates for the Legislative Assembly polls scheduled later this year. Party president Mehbooba Mufti released the names of candidates on June 14.

The list of PDP candidates includes few new faces while the party has retained sitting MLAs in most of the Constituencies. Surprisingly the party has given mandate for Amirakadal Constituency to Syed Muhammad Altaf Bukhari, omitting the name of previous candidate Haji Parvez who played a key role in the victory of Tariq Hamid Karra.

Among the other new faces are two former Trade Union leaders Muhammad Khurshi Alam (Khanyar) and Muntazir Mohiudin (Budgam).

Sitting MLA and former Minister Molvi Iftikar Hussain Ansari would contest from Patan seat.

Muhammad Dilawar Mir would contest from Rafiabad, Abdul Rehman Veeri from Bijbehara, Sartaj Madni from Devsar and Abdul Gafar Sofi from Home Shali Bugh.

PDP has retained most of the previous candidates including Qazi Muhammad Afzal (Ganderbal), Ghulam Nabi Hanjura (Chararsharif), Nizamudin Bhat (Bandipora), Dr Shafi Wani (Beerwah), Saifudin Bhat (Khansaheb), Asiya Naqash (Hazratbal), Bashir Ahmed Mir (Kangan).

As per the party list, Abdul Rahim Rather will contest from Kokernag, Faqir Chand Baghat from Bishna, Sardar Amreek Singh Reen from Gandhi Nagar, Fayaz Ahmed Mir from Kupwara, Syed Farooq Andrabi from Duroo Shahabad and former IGP crime Raja Ajaz Ali who joined the party a day ago will contest from Uri.

Earlier the party had released the list of 25 candidates. (CNS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *