Legislators decry Barrister Sultan Mehmood’s remarks

Legislators decry Barrister Sultan Mehmood’s remarks

‘We Are Elected Representatives’


Srinagar, Sep 26: The legislators Monday took strong exception to the remarks of Barrister Sultan Mahmood, former prime minister of Pakistan administered Kashmir (PaK) Choudhary that he doesn’t recognize mainstream politicians as elected representatives of the state.

As the Legislative Assembly convened here this morning for autumn session, Speaker Muhammed Akbar Lone moved the obituary reference for former speaker Ghulam Muhammad Mir Rajpori, former MLA Sadiq Ali and former MLCs Ahmadullah Azad and Nazir Ahmad Mir.

Speaking on the obituary reference, Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader and MLA M Y Tarigami said that Barrister Sultan had no business to pass on the utterances that he doesn’t recognize the elected representatives of the state.

“We became members of this House after being elected by the people,” Tarigami said.

He also asked speaker Muhammad Akbar Lone whether he recognizes two groups of BJP in the assembly. His query came in the backdrop of two BJP legislators Chaman Lal Gupta and Jugal Kishore Sharma paying homage to the former lawmakers.

However Speaker told him; “Don’t go there. Confine it to the obituary.”

Reacting to Barrister Sultan’s comments, J&K Democratic Party (Nationalist) leader and Minister for Agriculture Ghulam Hassan Mir said each member of the legislature represent the people of state.

He advised Barrister to see what was happening on the other side of the Line of Control.

Paying tributes to the deceased lawmakers, independent legislature Er Rashid asked the House to include the civilians killed by forces and unidentified gunmen in the obituary reference.

“Apart from the deceased legislators, it would be better if we pay tributes to the civilians killed during last few months in violence,” Rashid said.

Referring to the custodial killing of Nazim Rashid Shalla of Sopore, he said his family doesn’t know why he was killed.

Among others Finance Minister Abdur Rahim Rather, Peoples Democratic Party president Mehbooba Mufti, Congress leader Muhammad Sharief Niaz, Panthers Party legislator Balwant Singh Mankotia, National Conference MLA Choudhary Muhammad Ramzan and MLA Ashwini Kumar also paid tributes to the deceased legislators.

The House also observed two minutes of silence as a mark of respect for the departed souls.


Meanwhile, the Legislative Council also paid glowing tributes and observed two minute silence in memory of the deceased legislators, Ghulam Muhammad Mir Rajpori, (former speaker) Sadiq Ali, Ahmed-Ullah Azad and Nazir Ahmed Mir. The Council also remembered Cricket Legend, Nawab Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi and earthquake victims of Sikkim.

The Members who spoke on the obituary reference included Devinder Singh Rana, BA Magray, MY Taing, Murtaza A Khan, Sheikh Ghulam Rasool, Ajay Kumar Sadhotra, Vijay Bakaya, M Ashraf Mir and Narboo Gialchan.

[Greater Kashmir]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *